THE INSTITUTE OF CHEMISTRY OF IRELAND ANNUAL AWARDS FOR CHEMISTRY (Eva Philbin Public Lecture Series)

The Institute of Chemistry of Ireland Annual Award for Chemistry was inaugurated in 2005. Since 2007, the lectures are termed the Eva Philbin Public Lecture Series. The late Professor Eva Philbin was formerly head of the Chemistry Department in University College Dublin and also a former President of the Institute of Chemistry of Ireland.

The award is for a practising chemist, who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of chemistry and has considerably raised the profile of chemistry through both the excellence of their work and their ability to communicate in an effective and lucid manner.

The nominee may be employed in academia, industry or the state sector. The recipient who may be an Irish or international chemist of repute will present lectures on their field of work, in Dublin and in two other locations in Ireland, within twelve months of receiving the award. These lectures will be open to the general public as the purpose of the award is to promote the benefits of chemistry to the widest audience.

2005

Professor David A. Leigh — Edinburgh University

Tooling Up for Nanoworld: The 'Magic' of Molecular Machines

2006

Professor A. Prasanna de Silva — Queen's University Belfast Messages from Molecules: Sensing and Computing

2007

Doctor Mary Archer — Baroness Archer of Weston-super-Mare Chemistry and the Good Life

2008

Professor Peter Atkins —Lincoln College, University of Oxford Visualizing Chemistry

2009

Professor Martyn Poliakoff — University of Nottingham Lecture not given until 2010 Green Chemistry and Supercritical Fluids

2011

Doctor Malachy McCann — National University of Ireland Maynooth Syphilis, MRSA, and Cancer – Cures with Metal Ions

2012

Professor Lesley Yellowlees – Edinburgh University
Powering Ahead with Solar Energy /
Challenge Chemistry: Celebrating its Pivotal Role – Past, Present and Future

2013

Professor Herbert W. Roeskey – University of Göttingen
The Universe – A Guide to New Chemistry

2014

Professor Thorfinnur Gunnlaugsson – Trinity College Dublin Self-assembly supramolecular structures and material made from novel acyclic ligands

2015

Professor Michael J. Zaworotko – University of Limerick Crystal engineering of task-specific materials – Addressing pharmaceutical materials

2016

Professor John Sodeau – University College Cork

Every Breath You Take