

The Institute of Chemistry of Ireland is delighted to announce the call for nominations for the following prestigious ICI award: The ICI Boyle Higgins Gold Medal and Lecture Award 2023

Deadline for receipt of nominations: Friday, 24th March, 2023

The Boyle Higgins Gold Medal and Lecture Award 2023

The Boyle Higgins Gold Medal and Lecture Award, instituted in 1985, is an award for research work carried out in chemistry under the headings: (a) Pure Chemistry, (b) Applied and Industrial Chemistry or (c) Chemical Education. The award recognizes a chemist of any nationality working in Ireland or a chemist who is an Irish citizen working overseas who has made an outstanding and internationally recognized research contribution to the advancement of chemistry. A person nominated for this award must be a member of the Institute at the time of nomination or upon receipt of the award.

Nomination process: The nominator shall indicate in writing to the President of the Institute the category which applies to their nominee and they shall submit by email one electronic copy which will include a brief statement outlining the reasons for the nomination, together with a CV (maximum 3 pages) of the nominee. Nominations will be externally reviewed by at least two independent referees, who are recognized experts in the category and who are not nominators.

Nominations to be addressed to the ICI President, Professor Pat Guiry and sent by email to: p.guiry@ucd.ie and secretary@instituteofchemistry.org

ICI website: http://www.chemistryireland.org/

Recent Past Recipients

- **2022** Professor Grace Morgan (Pure Chemistry)
- **2021** Professor Tadhg Begley (Pure Chemistry)
- **2020** Professor Amilra P. de Silva (Applied Chemistry)
- **2019** Professor Suresh Pillai (Applied Chemistry)
- **2018** Professor John Kelly (Applied Chemistry)
- **2017** Professor Henry Curran (Applied Chemistry)
- **2016** Professor Kieran Hodnett (Applied Chemistry)
- **2015** Professor Dermot Diamond (Applied Chemistry)
- **2014** Professor Pat Guiry (Pure Chemistry)
- **2013** Doctor Sheila Willis (Applied Chemistry)
- 2012 Professor Malcolm R. Smyth (Applied Chemistry)
- **2011** Professor Frank Hegarty (Pure Chemistry)
- **2009** Professor Seán Corish (Pure Chemistry)
- **2008** Professor Albert Pratt (Pure Chemistry)
- **2007** Professor Rory More O'Ferrall (Pure Chemistry)
- **2005** Professor Donald Fitzmaurice (Pure Chemistry)
- 2002 Doctor John F. O'Sullivan (Applied Chemistry)
- **2000** Professor Dervilla M.X. Donnelly (Pure Chemistry)