ICI Annual Award for Chemistry (Eva Philbin Public Lecture Series) Award 2022

The Institute of Chemistry of Ireland Annual Award for Chemistry was inaugurated in 2005. Since 2007, the lectures are termed the Eva Philbin Public Lecture Series. The late Professor Eva Philbin was formerly Head of the Chemistry Department in University College Dublin and also a former President of the Institute of Chemistry of Ireland. The award is for a practising chemist, who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of chemistry and has considerably raised the profile of chemistry through both the excellence of their work and their ability to communicate in an effective and lucid manner.

Following an open call for nominations for the ICI Annual Award for Chemistry (Eva Philbin Public Lecture Series) 2021 and an independent review process, we are delighted to announce that the 2022 recipient of this award is Professor Carmel Breslin, Department of Chemistry, Maynooth University (Click here to view Professor Breslin’s profile on the MU website)

Our warmest congratulations to Professor Breslin. Professor Breslin presented an outstanding award lecture during the ICI Centenary Congress which took place in the Royal Irish Academy on the 17th November, 2022.

Pictured: Professor Patrick Guiry (ICI President) presenting Professor Carmel Breslin with her award during the ICI Centenary Congress in the Royal Irish Academy, 17th November, 2022