Three UCD School of Chemistry Academic Posts Being Advertised

Three UCD School of Chemistry academic posts are currently being advertised with an application deadline of the 3rd May, 2022:

  • Temporary 4 year post, Lecturer/Assistant Professor in Environmental and Sustainable Chemistry. Post Ref: 014266
  • Permanent, Lecturer/Assistant Professor in Organic / Medicinal Chemistry or Chemical Biology. Post Ref: 014268
  • Permanent, Lecturer/Assistant Professor in Bioinorganic Chemistry. Post Ref: 014269

See the School website and HR website for further details.

Call for nominations for the ICI Postgraduate Award 2022 now open

The Institute of Chemistry of Ireland
is delighted to announce the call for nominations for the following prestigious ICI award:

The ICI Postgraduate Award 2022

Deadline for receipt of nominations: Friday, 29th April, 2022


The nominee must be a registered PhD student in any Chemistry discipline working in an Irish Higher Education Institution. They must have demonstrated excellence in research through publications. They must also have demonstrated a commitment to supporting and promoting Chemistry within their Institution (e.g. through active participation in public engagement initiatives). A person nominated for this award must be a member of the Institute at the time of nomination or upon receipt of the award.

Nomination Process: The nominator, who must be the student’s PhD supervisor, shall send one electronic copy of their nomination by email to the President of the Institute, which will include a cover letter providing a brief resume of the reasons for the nomination, together with a CV (maximum 2 pages) of the nominee.

Nominations to be addressed to the ICI President, Professor Celine Marmion and sent to:


ICI Annual Award for Chemistry (Eva Philbin Public Lecture Series) Award 2021

The Institute of Chemistry of Ireland Annual Award for Chemistry was inaugurated in 2005. Since 2007, the lectures are termed the Eva Philbin Public Lecture Series. The late Professor Eva Philbin was formerly Head of the Chemistry Department in University College Dublin and also a former President of the Institute of Chemistry of Ireland. The award is for a practising chemist, who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of chemistry and has considerably raised the profile of chemistry through both the excellence of their work and their ability to communicate in an effective and lucid manner.

Following an open call for nominations for the ICI Annual Award for Chemistry (Eva Philbin Public Lecture Series) 2021 and an independent review process, we are delighted to announce that the 2021 recipient of this award is Professor Paula Colavita, School of Chemistry, Trinity College Dublin (Click here to view Professor Colavita’s profile on the TCD website)

Our warmest congratulations to Professor Colavita. We look forward to Professor Colavita’s public lecture in due course, the details of which will be posted on the ICI website and also communicated to ICI members via email.




Institute of Chemistry of Ireland Young Chemists’ Network Host International Women’s Day Event on 9th March, 2022

With our thanks to the ICI YCN for hosting a wonderful event in celebration of International Women’s Day on the 9th March, 2022.  This involved a panel discussion with Dr Michelle Brown (Research Fellow, CRANN, TCD and L’Oreal UNESCO FWIS Fellow 2021), Dr Clare S. Mahon (Assistant Professor at Durham University), Dr Roisin O’Flaherty (Assistant Professor at Maynooth University) and recruiters from the Berkey Group. This was a free event open to all.



Institute of Chemistry of Ireland Statement in Support of the People of Ukraine

The Institute of Chemistry of Ireland, the national body representing all chemists in Ireland, is deeply saddened at and fervently condemns the military invasion by Russia of Ukraine. The Institute stands in solidarity with the people of Ukraine including the members of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine and wider educational and scientific communities.


Call for Nominations’ for the ICO Young Researcher Award 2022

The International Carbohydrate Organization invites applications for the ICO Young Researcher Award 2022. This award was established in 2012 to encourage carbohydrate research by young investigators and shall be given to a researcher working on a project focused on any aspect of glycochemistry and/or glycobiology. The recipient of this award will be invited to present their work orally at the 30th International Carbohydrate Virtual Symposium in Brazil, from July 10th to 15th, 2022. The award covers registration expenses and a cash prize of 1000 USD. Further details in relation to eligibility and application details may be found here:  ICO Young Researcher Award_2022

Application deadline: Tuesday, 1st March, 2022


5th Symposium of the Irish Biological Inorganic Chemistry Society (IBICS)

The Irish Biological Inorganic Chemistry Society (IBICS) will host its 5th Symposium (IBICS-5) virtually on Friday, 26th November, 2021. Further details may be found here: IBIC-5 Flyer



Professor Tadhg Begley is the 2021 recipient of the ICI Boyle Higgins’ Gold Medal and Lecture Award

We are delighted to let you know that Professor Tadhg Begley, an Irish chemist, UCC alumnus, Distinguished Professor, Derek Barton Professor of Chemistry and Robert A. Welch Foundation Chair, at Texas A&M University in the US, is the recipient of the ICI Boyle Higgins’ Gold Medal and Lecture Award 2021. Professor Begley is not only an outstanding and internationally recognised leader in the field of chemical biology and natural product synthesis but he has also inspired generations of chemists both here in Ireland and indeed internationally. Our warmest congratulations to Professor Begley. We are very much hoping that Professor Begley will be able to deliver his award lecture in person in 2022.


Call for nominations for the ICI Annual Award for Chemistry (Eva Philbin Public Lecture Series) 2021 is now open

The call for nominations for this prestigious ICI award is now open.

 Further details in relation to the nomination process may be found here: Institute of Chemistry of Ireland Call for Nominations for the ICI Eva Philbin Award 2021

Deadline date for nominations: Friday, 26th November, 2021



International Chemistry Olympiad 2021

Team Ireland has achieved its best success to date in the International Chemistry Olympiad, which was held from Saturday, July 24 to Monday, August 2, 2021, with all four competing students receiving awards for the first time. Two students, Oisín Ó Feinneadha, from St. Peter’s College Secondary School, Wexford and Tong Wu, from Clongowes Wood College, Clane, Co. Kildare got silver medals, placing them in the top 10-30% of Chemistry students in the world. Oscar Despard, from Sandford Park School, Ranelagh, Dublin also received a bronze medal and Aoife Morris, from St. Aloysius’ College, Carrigtwohill, Co. Cork completed the extraordinary success of Team Ireland by getting an Honourable Mention award.

Warmest congratulations to theses exceptional students on not only their outstanding achievements but for also being wonderful Irish Student Ambassadors. Congratulations also to their teachers and schools and all those who supported them.  A special word of congratulations and thanks to the academic staff across five Irish Higher Education Institutions who provided expert training and support to these students.