ICI Annual Award for Chemistry (Eva Philbin Public Lecture Series) Award 2021

The Institute of Chemistry of Ireland Annual Award for Chemistry was inaugurated in 2005. Since 2007, the lectures are termed the Eva Philbin Public Lecture Series. The late Professor Eva Philbin was formerly Head of the Chemistry Department in University College Dublin and also a former President of the Institute of Chemistry of Ireland. The award is for a practising chemist, who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of chemistry and has considerably raised the profile of chemistry through both the excellence of their work and their ability to communicate in an effective and lucid manner.

Following an open call for nominations for the ICI Annual Award for Chemistry (Eva Philbin Public Lecture Series) 2021 and an independent review process, we are delighted to announce that the 2021 recipient of this award is Professor Paula Colavita, School of Chemistry, Trinity College Dublin (Click here to view Professor Colavita’s profile on the TCD website)

Our warmest congratulations to Professor Colavita. We look forward to Professor Colavita’s public lecture in due course, the details of which will be posted on the ICI website and also communicated to ICI members via email.




Institute of Chemistry of Ireland Young Chemists’ Network Host International Women’s Day Event on 9th March, 2022

With our thanks to the ICI YCN for hosting a wonderful event in celebration of International Women’s Day on the 9th March, 2022.  This involved a panel discussion with Dr Michelle Brown (Research Fellow, CRANN, TCD and L’Oreal UNESCO FWIS Fellow 2021), Dr Clare S. Mahon (Assistant Professor at Durham University), Dr Roisin O’Flaherty (Assistant Professor at Maynooth University) and recruiters from the Berkey Group. This was a free event open to all.



Institute of Chemistry of Ireland Statement in Support of the People of Ukraine

The Institute of Chemistry of Ireland, the national body representing all chemists in Ireland, is deeply saddened at and fervently condemns the military invasion by Russia of Ukraine. The Institute stands in solidarity with the people of Ukraine including the members of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine and wider educational and scientific communities.