Institute of Chemistry of Ireland Statement in Support of the People of Ukraine

The Institute of Chemistry of Ireland, the national body representing all chemists in Ireland, is deeply saddened at and fervently condemns the military invasion by Russia of Ukraine. The Institute stands in solidarity with the people of Ukraine including the members of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine and wider educational and scientific communities.


Call for Nominations’ for the ICO Young Researcher Award 2022

The International Carbohydrate Organization invites applications for the ICO Young Researcher Award 2022. This award was established in 2012 to encourage carbohydrate research by young investigators and shall be given to a researcher working on a project focused on any aspect of glycochemistry and/or glycobiology. The recipient of this award will be invited to present their work orally at the 30th International Carbohydrate Virtual Symposium in Brazil, from July 10th to 15th, 2022. The award covers registration expenses and a cash prize of 1000 USD. Further details in relation to eligibility and application details may be found here:  ICO Young Researcher Award_2022

Application deadline: Tuesday, 1st March, 2022


5th Symposium of the Irish Biological Inorganic Chemistry Society (IBICS)

The Irish Biological Inorganic Chemistry Society (IBICS) will host its 5th Symposium (IBICS-5) virtually on Friday, 26th November, 2021. Further details may be found here: IBIC-5 Flyer



Professor Tadhg Begley is the 2021 recipient of the ICI Boyle Higgins’ Gold Medal and Lecture Award

We are delighted to let you know that Professor Tadhg Begley, an Irish chemist, UCC alumnus, Distinguished Professor, Derek Barton Professor of Chemistry and Robert A. Welch Foundation Chair, at Texas A&M University in the US, is the recipient of the ICI Boyle Higgins’ Gold Medal and Lecture Award 2021. Professor Begley is not only an outstanding and internationally recognised leader in the field of chemical biology and natural product synthesis but he has also inspired generations of chemists both here in Ireland and indeed internationally. Our warmest congratulations to Professor Begley. We are very much hoping that Professor Begley will be able to deliver his award lecture in person in 2022.


Call for nominations for the ICI Annual Award for Chemistry (Eva Philbin Public Lecture Series) 2021 is now open

The call for nominations for this prestigious ICI award is now open.

 Further details in relation to the nomination process may be found here: Institute of Chemistry of Ireland Call for Nominations for the ICI Eva Philbin Award 2021

Deadline date for nominations: Friday, 26th November, 2021



International Chemistry Olympiad 2021

Team Ireland has achieved its best success to date in the International Chemistry Olympiad, which was held from Saturday, July 24 to Monday, August 2, 2021, with all four competing students receiving awards for the first time. Two students, Oisín Ó Feinneadha, from St. Peter’s College Secondary School, Wexford and Tong Wu, from Clongowes Wood College, Clane, Co. Kildare got silver medals, placing them in the top 10-30% of Chemistry students in the world. Oscar Despard, from Sandford Park School, Ranelagh, Dublin also received a bronze medal and Aoife Morris, from St. Aloysius’ College, Carrigtwohill, Co. Cork completed the extraordinary success of Team Ireland by getting an Honourable Mention award.

Warmest congratulations to theses exceptional students on not only their outstanding achievements but for also being wonderful Irish Student Ambassadors. Congratulations also to their teachers and schools and all those who supported them.  A special word of congratulations and thanks to the academic staff across five Irish Higher Education Institutions who provided expert training and support to these students.


45th Institute of Chemistry of Ireland Congress 2021 – Impacting Healthcare with Chemistry

The Institute of Chemistry of Ireland Young Chemists’ Network, together with RCSI University of Medicine and Health Sciences, co-hosted the 45th ICI Congress (virtual) on Thursday, 30th September, 2021 from 09.30-17.00

The Congress theme was ‘Impacting Healthcare with Chemistry’.

It was in honour of Sir Charles A. Cameron to commemorate the centenary of his death.

Please find programme details here: ICI Congress 2021 Programme


“Younger Chemists Thriving during the Global COVID-19 Pandemic”

Please find here a link to a recent article on ‘Younger Chemists Thriving during the Global COVID-19 Pandemic’ published in Chemistry Views, the online science news magazine of Chemistry Europe. Congratulations to the chair of the ICI Young Chemists’ Network (ICI YCN), Dr Mark Kelada, who contributed to this article.





ICI Honorary Fellowship

The ICI is delighted to announce that
Professor Dervilla M.X. Donnelly, Emeritus Professor of Phytochemistry
at University College Dublin,
has been awarded an honorary fellowship of the Institute

This is in recognition of her highly distinguished career in academia and her significant contributions to the wider community serving in a variety of leadership roles.  Professor Donnelly was elected the first female President of the Royal Dublin Society, and appointed Chairman of the Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies, Chairman of the European Science Research Council, Vice-President of the European Science Foundation, and Senior Vice-President and Vice-President of the Royal Irish Academy. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, an Institute of Chemistry of Ireland Boyle-Higgins Medallist, a UCD Charter Day Medallist, and a Royal Irish Academy Cunningham Medallist.
Our warmest congratulations to Professor Donnelly on receiving this honorary fellowship, one of the highest honours the Institute can bestow.




Calling All ICI Members: Please Update Your Contact Details

If you have moved or you haven’t been receiving our emails, please update your contact details by emailing our honorary secretary,
Dr Emma Coyle at